Producers can invite up to 20 people to participate in a live broadcast or recording session. Each guest receives a secure, personalized link to join the session.


This article walks you through the process of inviting and managing your broadcast guests.


How does it work?

Simply enter the email addresses of the people you’d like to invite to the live broadcast or recording session. Each guest will receive a secure and personalized link directly to the session, which should not be shared with anyone else. 

Guests joining a broadcast using a direct guest link will be automatically logged into Socialive, bypassing basic and SSO authentication. This is possible because the direct guest link acts as the authentication process.


Note: If the guest has Broadcaster- or Admin-access to Socialive, they'll be required to sign to join the broadcast.


Inviting Guests

  1. In Studio, under Live Sources, click Invite a Guest.
  2. Enter the email address(es) of the invitee(s).
  3. Select whether to send each guest a secure link to the broadcast. If selected, emails will be sent immediately after you click Add guests. You can skip this step and send them later, at any point.
  4. Click Add guests.


Note: If the email address is not already associated with a registered user in Socialive, the user’s profile is automatically created. This user will:

  • Have Guest-only access. Admins can change the user’s access type in the Socialive admin portal.
  • Be assigned a random password. If they wish to log in manually, they can click on Forgot Password to reset it.

Providing Guest Links to Invitees

When adding guests to a broadcast, producers can choose to:

  1. Email invites (with links) to one or all invitees
  2. Choose to send emails at a later time (See why here)
  3. Copy the guest link and send it directly to invitees (e.g., through conferencing apps on a tech check, Slack, text, etc.)


Keep in mind that:

  • Links to the broadcast will not work once the broadcast is deleted.
  • Even with a link, a guest will not be able to join a broadcast once they’ve been removed from the broadcast’s guest list.
  • If a guest’s personal link has accidentally been shared, the host can invalidate a guest link by choosing to “reset” it. The old link will no longer be usable.


Why Skip the Email Invitation?

When you invite a guest to your broadcast, you can choose to skip sending an email invitation. This is useful since producers often set up their scenes before the actual live broadcast or recording sessions. It is better to skip the email invitation, in these cases, so your guests are not distracted by emails long before they need to sign in.


Can Guests Join a Broadcast without a Guest Link?

Guests can join any broadcast they are invited to by signing in to Socialive when needed in the Green Room. Once they log in, they will see a list of broadcasts they are invited to and they can click Join to enter the Green Room.



Managing Guest Links

Emailing Links to Guests

  • You choose to email links to specific guests or to all guests at the same time.
    • To email the guest link to a specific guest:
      1. Hover over a guest and click the down caret at the top-right corner.
      2. Click Email guest link. An email will be immediately sent to the guest.
    • To email guest links to all guests:
      1. Under Live Sources, click the arrow to the right of the Invite a Guest button.
      2. Click Email links to all guests. An email will be immediately sent to all invited guests.

Note:

  • Users with “Guest” access will receive a secure, personalized link that will take them directly to the broadcast without registration or sign-in required.
  • Users with “Admin” or “Broadcaster” access will receive a link to the broadcast but will be required to log in to Socialive first.


Manually Providing Links to Guests

You can also choose to manually provide guest links to your invitees by:

  1. Hover over a guest and click the down caret at the top-right corner.
  2. Click Copy guest link. The link for that guest will be copied to your clipboard. Each guest has a secure and unique link that should not be shared with anyone else.


Resetting a Guest Link

Producers can reset a guest link for a specific invitee by:

  1. Hover over a guest and click the down caret at the top-right corner.
  2. Click Reset guest link. The previous guest link will be invalidated and a new guest link will be generated. 
  3. Repeat step 1 and click Email guest link or Copy guest link to provide the invitee with the new guest link.


Removing a Guest from the Broadcast

  1. Hover over a guest and click the down caret at the top-right corner.
  2. Click Delete. The guest will be removed from the broadcast and the guest link will be invalidated.

Still looking for an answer?

Contact Socialive Support via live chat, email at support@socialive.us, or submit a support ticket.