Welcome to the new Green Room! We've rebuilt the Green Room to provide improved performance and a new interface. You'll notice quicker connection times, optimized guest video feeds, improved pinning view, the ability to hide and show the broadcast monitor, chat panel, and pigeonhole panel, as well as create multiple local recordings per session.
The Green Room is the interface in which guests experience a broadcast or recording session. Socialive guests experience the studio differently than producers do. This article will provide an overview of the features available in the new Green Room to all guests.
Tip: Right-click on an image and select "Open image in new tab" to enlarge the images.
Overview of the Green Room
Green Room Status Bar- There are three different banners that will appear at the top of the Green Room:
Welcome to the Green Room - This green banner appears when you join the Green Room before a broadcast starts.
You are Backstage - This orange banner appears after the broadcast starts and when you are backstage, i.e., you will be muted to guests that are currently live and the audience cannot see or hear you.
You are Live - This red banner appears when you are live on the broadcast, i.e., the audience can see and hear you. Your video feed will also have a red outline and a Live badge will appear at the top-right corner of your video feed.
Gallery View - Here you will see a grid view of all guests participating in the broadcast as well as screen share feeds.
Mute/Unmute a Guest - Hover over a guest's feed and click the speaker button at the top-right corner to mute or unmute them to yourself.
Guest Health Status - By default, the guests' health statuses are not shown unless enabled. You can enable this in your Video Settings menu (see number 10 below). When enabled, the health status indicator appears at the bottom-right corner of each guest's video feed. If you hover over the indicator, you will see the FPS (frames per second) and the resolution of the video feed. Learn more about the health status indicator.
Guest Directors Badge - Guests with the Director badge stay unmuted throughout the broadcast to communicate with other guests (e.g., give cues when guests are due to go live next). Learn more about Guest Directors.
Guest Video Quality - Hover over a guest's video feed to toggle the Video Quality options drop-down. By default, the video quality in which you see other guests is automated based on the size of the video (e.g., if you pin their video, you will see them in the highest resolution).
Pin a Video - You can pin any video feed to get a closer look by hovering over a guest's video feed and clicking the pin icon. This is great for seeing the details of a screen share or focusing on a specific speaker.
Health Indicator - At the bottom-left corner of the screen, you'll see the Health Indicator. If you hover over the indicator, you can see the FPS and resolution of your video feed. Learn more about the different health statuses.
Record - The Record function records your video feed in native resolution (e.g., if your camera is 1080p, the video will be recorded in 1080p). This is useful when your internet connection is not great during the broadcast. Now you have the option to create multiple recordings per session and download them to your computer to share later with the producer. Learn more about local recordings.
Switch Cam- There are a few settings available in the Switch Cam drop-down:
If you have multiple cameras connected to your computer, you can switch between cameras by clicking the drop-down and selecting one from the list.
If you click on the Video Settings option from the drop-down list, a pop-up window will appear, where you can change your camera device, the maximum resolution output of your video feed, enable mirroring your video feed, disable the framing guides on your video feed (this is enabled by default), and show the health status monitor of other guests.
Mute - There are a few settings available in the Mute drop-down:
Click the microphone icon to mute or unmute yourself in the Green Room. Beware that if you mute yourself, others will not be able to hear you, even the audience if you are live. Additionally, if you have multiple microphones and speakers connected to your computer, you can switch between them by clicking the down caret and selecting one from the list.
If you click the Audio Settings option from the drop-down list, a pop-up window will appear where you can change your speaker and microphone device, disable echo cancellation and noise suppression.
Share - The share option allows you to share your screen, a window, or a Google Chrome tab (with audio) which the host or producer can use in the broadcast. If you are sharing slides and see black borders around them (letterboxing), follow the steps in the support article on how to screen share slides and avoid letterboxing in a broadcast.
Chat - Toggle the chat panel to communicate with other guests and the producer. Click on the chat icon to hide the panel along with the broadcast monitor. If the chat panel is not open, you will see a number badge when there are unread messages.
Broadcast Monitor - The broadcast monitor shows you (with a 3-10 second delay) what the audience is seeing and hearing. If you hover over the broadcast monitor you will see an audio control button to adjust the volume, full screen the monitor, or view it picture-in-picture. On the bottom-left corner of the broadcast monitor, you can click to hide or show the monitor.
Pigeonhole - Pigeonhole is a live audience interaction platform for virtual and in-person events and meetings.If there is a Pigeonhole added to the broadcast, you'll see the Pigeonhole icon next to the chat icon. Click to show and hide the Pigeonhole panel.
Help - In the event that you need to contact support, click the information button at the bottom-left corner of the screen. The support chat pop-up will appear, where you'll be able to get in touch with Socialive Support or browse articles in the Support Center.
Leave Broadcast - You can leave the broadcast by clicking the red hang up button at the bottom-right or by closing the Green Room window.
Still looking for an answer?