Joining a Broadcast

If it is your first time joining a broadcast in Socialive, follow the instructions in the following article:


The Green Room is the interface in which guests experience a broadcast or recording session. With our latest update to the iOS mobile app, the first screen you will see is the Green Room lobby. From here, you can adjust your settings, switch between the front and back camera of your device, and mute yourself before entering the Green Room. For more information about the Green Room lobby, refer to the article on Joining a Broadcast as a Guest from an iOS Device.

Socialive guests experience the studio differently than producers do. Similar to sending someone on a live stage, when the producer starts a recording or live broadcast, the Green Room participants will see their interface change in a few ways:

  • Once you are in the Green Room, before the broadcast starts, you will see a green bar at the top of your screen.

  • Once the broadcast starts and you are backstage, the green bar will turn orange. All guests will be automatically muted once the producer starts the broadcast. However, you will still be able to hear the producer and other guests with the Director role assigned to them.

  • Tapping on the Guest icon at the top-left, you will see the Guest List. Tap on a guest's name to pin or maximize their video on your screen, or tap on the speakers icon next to their name to mute them (to yourself only).

  • From the Guest List, tap on View Broadcast to see the broadcast monitor to see the audience's view of the recording or live broadcast. This will display at a 5-10 second delay.

  • You can always use the chat feature to communicate with the producer and other guests throughout the broadcast. Tap on the message icon to open the chat.

  • The Health Status Monitor shows 5 different statuses depending on the quality of your video: Great, Good, Okay, Poor, and Bad. Tap on the Health Monitor icon to see other stats such as your Frame Rate, Resolution, and Bitrate.

  • From the Health Monitor tab, you can also enable Energy Saver mode. When Energy Saver mode is turned on, you will only see your own video feed, and all other participants will be audio-only to conserve resources on your device.

Going Live

When you go live in a broadcast, a few things will change:

  • The gallery view will adjust to show your and other live guest's video feed on your device's screen. Backstage guests will not appear in the gallery view.

  • You will only be able to hear the producer, guests with the Director role, and other live guests while you are live on stage.

  • You will see a red bar at the top of your screen stating you are live, along with a Live badge on your video feed.

End of a Broadcast

When the session ends, everyone is unmuted for each other again. Guests should wait for cues from the producer on the next steps.


Best Practices

  • Audience members will not hear the producer. To ensure this, it is recommended that guests wear headphones, or adjust the speakers on their mobile device to 50% to avoid any potential echo or feedback. We recommend these:

  • It is possible to have multiple guests be live, so anyone else live in a scene would also have this red outline around their camera display box.

  • Other guests in the green room that are not live, will hear the audio of those who are live, the producer, and anyone else who has been unmuted (to themselves).


Troubleshooting Common Issues

Issues with Broadcast Quality and Consistency

If you are experiencing issues with the broadcast's quality and consistency, it could be due to your network.

  • Check your internet signal and assess if you need to move to a different area or switch to a different network.

  • Corporate firewalls can inhibit your ability to join the video, and see, or hear other participants. For this, allow UDP with a port range of 5002-65535.

No Device Detected/Can't See Your Camera

  • The settings to allow permissions for your camera or microphone will pop up on the launch screen in your computer browser, or upon accessing the camera on your mobile device.


Still looking for an answer?

Contact Socialive Support via live chat, email at support@socialive.us, or submit a support ticket.