While Socialive automatically records all guest feeds in the cloud, guests can record their video feed and save it on their computer's hard drive. Local recordings produce high-quality videos regardless of the guest's network conditions since they are not subject to bandwidth limitations that can affect resolution, bit rate, and overall video quality. Guests can capture multiple local recordings per session in the Green Room.
This article provides steps to capture local recordings and download them from within the Green Room and a video tutorial on how to create local recordings.
Creating Local Recordings
In the Green Room, click Record to start a local recording of your video feed. A notification will appear at the top-right, showing its recording resolution.
Click Stop to stop the local recording. A pop-up will appear once you stop recording showing your recording(s). Here you can playback the video, download, or delete it. You can also close the pop-up and download your recordings after. A badge will appear next to the Record button displaying the number of recordings you have captured that are pending download or delete.
When you attempt to leave the Green Room without downloading or deleting all your local recordings captured during that session, a pop-up will appear, reminding you to download or delete your recordings. However, you can choose not to download or delete them and continue to leave the Green Room.
When you join a broadcast that still has local recordings captured to download or delete, a pop-up will appear, reminding you to download or delete. However, you can choose not to download or delete them and continue into the Green Room.
When a broadcast is closed by the producer, you (as a guest) will no longer be able to access the Green Room. Therefore, you can no longer access the local recordings you captured.
When you click Download, the file will download and another pop-up will appear displaying the name of the file. Refer to the support article on how to access your local recordings.
Keep in Mind
You can start and stop recording at any time.
You'll need to stop your recording before changing your audio or video source.
Local recording is not available when using incognito mode.
When your computer has run out of space, the recording will automatically stop. You will receive a notification when your computer is running out of space.
Viewing Your WebM Recording
Your recording will download as a WebM file. You can open a WebM file with most modern web browsers such as Google Chrome, Opera, Mozilla Firefox, and Microsoft Edge. If your browser is not playing the video, make sure the browser is up-to-date. Otherwise, your best bet for viewing most WebM files is to use VLC, a free and open-source multimedia player.
Converting WebM Files to a Different Format
Local recordings are captured at a Variable Frame Rate (VFR). While most video player apps and programs, such as VLC or Quicktime, can play VFR videos without issues, most video editing applications are designed for Constant Frame Rate (CFR) videos. With VFR footage, the audio and video can drift out of sync during the editing process, presenting obstacles in post-production.
To convert your WebM recordings to Constant Frame Rate, we recommend you to use Handbrake, a free and open-source video converter (available for Windows, Mac, and Linux). Refer to the support article Using Handbrake to Convert Your Socialive Recordings for instructions.
Still looking for an answer?
Contact Socialive Support via live chat or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.