Welcome to the Green Room! The Green Room is the interface in which guests experience a broadcast or recording session. Socialive guests experience the studio differently than producers do. This article will provide an overview of the features available in the Green Room to all guests.
Tip: Right-click on an image and select "Open image in new tab" to enlarge the images.
Overview of the Green Room
Green Room Status Bar- There are three different banners that will appear at the top of the Green Room:
Welcome to the Green Room - This gray banner appears when you join the Green Room before a broadcast starts.
Backstage: Standby to go live - This green banner appears after the broadcast starts and when you are backstage, i.e., you will be muted to guests that are currently live and the audience cannot see or hear you.
Your Camera is Live - This red banner appears when you are live on the broadcast, i.e., the audience can see and hear you. Your video feed will also have a red outline and a Live badge will appear at the top-right corner of your video feed.
Guests Panel - Here you will see a grid view of all guests participating in the broadcast as well as screen share feeds.
Mute/Unmute a Guest - Click this button at the top-right corner of another guest's video feed to mute or unmute them.
Health Status Indicator - The health status indicator appears at the bottom-right corner of each guest's video feed. If you hover over the indicator, you will see the FPS (frames per second) and the resolution of the video feed. You can also see your own health status indicator at the bottom-left corner of the Green Room window. If you click the indicator, you can see the FPS and resolution of your video feed. Learn more about the health status indicator.
Directors Badge - Guests with the Director badge stay unmuted throughout the broadcast to communicate with other guests (e.g., give cues when guests are due to go live next). Learn more about Guest Directors.
Video Feed Resolution - The video settings icon located at the bottom-right corner of other guest's video feeds allows you to change the resolution in which you see their video feed. By default, you will see other guest's video feeds in the lowest resolution to save computer resources and avoid potential performance issues.
Pin a Video Feed - You can pin any video feed to get a closer look by hovering over a video and click the pin icon. This is great for seeing the details of a screen share or focusing on a specific speaker.
Help - You can click the Help icon to access the support center, test your internet connection speed, and leave the broadcast.
Record Me - The Record Me function records your video feed in native resolution. This is useful when your internet connection is not great during the broadcast. When the broadcast ends, you need to stop recording to save the recording file to your computer hard drive and then share it with the producer or host of the broadcast.
Switch Cam- There are a few settings available in the Switch Cam drop-down:
If you have multiple cameras connected to your computer, you can switch between cameras by clicking the drop-down and selecting one from the list.
If you click on the Video Settings option from the drop-down list, a pop-up window will appear, where you can change the maximum resolution output of your video feed and mirror your video feed. Learn more about this in the Green Room Video Settings product update article.
Mute/Unmute - Click the button to mute or unmute yourself in the Green Room. Beware that if you mute yourself, others will not be able to hear you, even the audience if you are live. Additionally, if you have multiple microphone devices connected to your computer, you can switch between them by clicking the drop-down and selecting one from the list.
Share Screen - The share screen option allows you to share your screen, a window, or a Google Chrome tab which the host or producer can use in the broadcast. If you are sharing slides and see black borders around them (letterboxing), follow the steps in the support article on how to screen share slides and avoid letterboxing in a broadcast.
Broadcast Monitor - The broadcast monitor shows you (with a 3-10 second delay) what the audience is seeing and hearing. If you hover over the broadcast monitor you will see an audio control button to adjust the volume, full screen the monitor, or view it picture-in-picture.
Team Chat - The team chat allows you to communicate with other guests during the broadcast.
Leave Broadcast - You can leave the broadcast by clicking the Leave Broadcast button at the bottom-right or by closing the Green Room window.